Another Year Wiser and a Little More Fabulous

So I turn 25 today. Wow 25!!!! Now that is some serious scary thought especially since I am nearing 30 and I am so unsure about what my future looks like. We all have our dreams but well not all dreams come true. I wish there was some “future-fairy” that will send a video link to my email as soon as this gets posted.

its-my-birthday-and-im-celebrating-life-birthday-quote

Now, taking a look into myself, I can say I am in a happy place. Erm, things could be better. I mean it’s not all perfect (but hey, nothing is perfect anyways). I have a family I love and that loves me back, I have a few amazing friends who feel like family and would have my back any day and most importantly I have an 8-6 job that I am most grateful for. Ideally, working on weekends should never be fun but I looove loove love it.

Be thankful

 

Mmmm!! Silver Jubilee!! Of course I have thought about all the things I wish I did not do and all the things I wished to have achieved by now(like I said, not all dreams come true. But not to worry, most that come true don’t manifest at the time you planned, just a little more time is all you need).  I am being tempted to list those things I wish I had achieved at 25 but nooooooo, I don’t want to jinx that 🙊 🙊 🙊

dreams come true

Well on to the things that though I do not entirely regret (every mistake is a lesson learned), I just wish I never had to experience.

  • When I completed my National Service, I accepted the first easy employment I found that made a somewhat reasonable offer. I told myself, I’ll start with this and find something better because well there are no jobs anyway. But this was the worst 3 months of my life. Details don’t matter but be sure to do your research before accepting any job offer from start-ups. Some business owners are just terrible at it. Never stay in an abusive work environment and don’t make or accept excuses when you have worked 2 months and nothing has been said about your salary. Some people just disregard the concept of a contract. Pack up and leave at the fist strike. I repeat never stay in an abusive work environment. It can make the smartest people feel worthless and incapable of anything. But thank God that all things work together for good to them that love Him. Three months into that I finally got the job I have been eyeing for 2 years.
  • I’ve always wanted to do what’s right by society’s standards (wrong choice). Jeez, we live in a judgmental community. If you wear heels, people will complain and if you wear flats these people will still complain. Whatever you do just make sure you make your happiness the priority. Seriously, do what makes you happy!! If you want to dance your head off at the trotro station, do it disregarding whatever whoever will say about you. What matters most is how you view yourself and what you think about yourself. Remember, “observers are worried”. Don’t forget also to take responsibility for your actions. Actions have consequences and whatever you decide to do to make yourself happy, be prepared to bear the associated consequences.  (Don’t go robbing a bank because you think it will make you happy. You will end up in jail. No jokes!!)
  • Well the last is a little more private and sharing that defeats the status. What I can say however, is that there is truth in the saying “Time heals all wounds”. Whatever bad experiences you have faced, take all the time you need to grieve and believe that it gets better with time 🙂

stronger

Whew!!! This took some time??!! Anyway so yeah, PEACE OUT ❤ ❤

 

Images: thequotepedia|Google Images|oneplus|Tattoogen

Leave a comment